Good News!

My child is being transferred today off of the locked unit to a step down, called a CBAT, cause acronyms rule the medical world. I actually never want to hear or see a fucking acronym again. Ever. Are we so lazy that we can’t just say she’s being moved to a community based acute treatment program? There are other things I’m not going to miss about our stay at Children’s hospital. Here’s just a few.

  • I will not miss Au Bon Pain. Not at all. Sorry Au Bon Pain but you hold nothing to Panera and you are mediocre at best. I think you need some rehab
  • I will definitely not miss the parking garage that makes me want to throw up as I exit the 10 floors down to the street in a windy and frightening series of near misses with other cars
  • I will most certainly not miss Bertuccis with it’s acid reflux inducing red sauce and meh food. The bartenders were very nice though and would have my glass of Dreaming Tree Cab ready when they saw me walk in
  • I will not miss seeing really sick children every day upon entering the hospital and feeling so terrible for the parents and horrible for myself at the same time. I want to give them all a hug and yet I kind of want one myself
  • I will not miss the words triggers, safety, teary, or giraffe. Giraffe is a word the staff or kids use when something someone is saying could be a trigger. There’s that fucking word again. I give up

I’m so happy she’s moving to an unlocked unit and I feel like she’s one step closer to home. This is both awesome news and scary news at the same time. I don’t ever want to go back to this place again. I can’t say enough about Children’s hospital even though I won’t miss it and never want to go back. The doctors, therapists, and staff were all amazing and my child was in very good hands.

Now the work really starts.

Leave a Reply

